Football at Summer Olympic 2020 Schedule & Teams Info

Football or soccer is the most popular sport in the world. In the Olympic Games, this sport has two disciplines; one is men’s and another is women’s football sports events.

It is governed by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA). From the 1900 Olympic Games, this sports event has been organized since then.

Football at 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games

The Football sports at the Tokyo Olympic Games 2020 will be scheduled from 22 July – 8 August 2020 at seven venues in Tokyo, Japan. From the six confederations, 16 men’s teams and 12 women’s teams will participate in this event.

Venues of Football Sports at Summer Olympics 2020

This football sport is scheduled in seven different venues from the six cities in Japan. Here is the table that we listed.

Yokohama, KanagawaInt. Stadium Yokohama70,000
Chofu, TokyoTokyo Stadium48,000
Shinjuku, TokyoNational Stadium60,102
Kashima, IbarakiIbaraki Kashima Stadium42,000
Saitama, SaitamaSaitama Stadium62,000
Sapporo, HokkaidoSapporo Dome42,000
Rifu, MiyagiMiyagi Stadium48,000

Football at Summer Olympic 2020 Schedule Fixtures & Calendar

22nd JulyWomen’s Group stage
23rd JulyMen’s Group stage
25th JulyWomen’s Group stage
26th JulyMen’s Group stage
28th JulyWomen’s Group stage
29th JulyMen’s Group stage
31st JulyWomen’s Quarter-finals
1st AugustMan’s Quarter-finals
3rd AugustWomen’s Semi-finals
4th AugustMen’s Semi-finals
6th AugustWomen’s Bronze medal match
7th AugustMen’s Bronze medal match
Women’s Gold medal match
8th AugustMen’s Gold medal match
Football at Summer Olympic

Qualifying Teams at the Summer Olympic 2020

16 teams of men & 12 teams of women will participate in this Summer Olympic Games 2020 in Japan. Women’s football event will start on 22nd July with group-stage matches on the other side, on 23rd July Men’s football event will start from.

Men’s Football Teams at Summer Olympic 2020

The men’s football teams at the Summer Olympics come from six different confederations such as UEFA European Under-21 Championship 2019, OFC Men’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament 2019, Africa U-23 Cup of Nations 2019, AFC U-23 Championship 2020, CONMEBOL Pre-Olympic Tournament 2020 & CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying Championship 2020.

Japan (Host)FranceGermanySpain
New ZealandSouth AfricaSaudi ArabiaSouth Korea
Ivory CoastEgyptRomaniaTBA

Women’s Football Teams at Summer Olympic 2020

Here women’s football teams at the 2020 Summer Olympic also come from six different confederations such as Copa América 2018, OFC Nations Cup 2018, FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019, CONCACAF Olympic 2020 Qualifying Championship, CAF Olympic 2020 Qualifying Tournament, AFC Olympic 2020 Qualifying Tournament & CAF–CONMEBOL play-off.

Japan (Host)BrazilNetherlandsSweden
New ZealandGreat BritainTBATBA
CanadaUnited StatesTBATBA