NHL Stanley Cup Past Winners by Year

NHL Stanley Cup Past Champions

Since 1893, the Stanley Cup is a trophy awarded annually to the playoff champion club of the National Hockey League (NHL) ice hockey league. It has been organized since 1893. Montreal Hockey Club was the first winner of the Stanley Cup and they won 4-title of championships.

Basically, it starts with the Stanley Cup playoff games. And it is an elimination tournament in the National Hockey League (NHL) consisting of four rounds of best-of-seven series to determine the league champion and the winner of the Stanley Cup.

Eight teams from each of the two conferences qualify for the playoffs based on regular season points totals. The final round is commonly known as the Stanley Cup Finals, which matches the two conference champions.

NHL Stanley Cup Past Champions List

However, the Montreal Canadiens is the most winning team in the NHL. They have earned 24-time Stanley Cup. After that, Toronto Maple Leafs won 13-time and Detroit Red Wings got 3rd position with the 11-time winner. Boston Bruins and Chicago Blackhawks, both have lifted six times of that prestigious trophy.

Here is the full past champions list of the NHL Stanley Cup.

2021Tampa Bay Lightning4β€”1Montreal Canadiens
2020Tampa Bay Lightning4β€”2Dallas Stars
2019St. Louis Blues4β€”3Boston Bruins
2018Washington Capitals4β€”1Vegas Golden Knights
2017Pittsburgh Penguins4β€”2Nashville Predators
2016Pittsburgh Penguins4β€”2San Jose Sharks
2015Chicago Blackhawks4β€”2Tampa Bay Lightning
2014Los Angeles Kings4β€”1New York Rangers
2013Chicago Blackhawks4β€”2Boston Bruins
2012Los Angeles Kings4β€”2New Jersey Devils
2011Boston Bruins4β€”3Vancouver Canucks
2010Chicago Blackhawks4β€”2Philadelphia Flyers
2009Pittsburgh Penguins4β€”3Detroit Red Wings
2008Detroit Red Wings4β€”2Pittsburgh Penguins
2007Anaheim Ducks4β€”1Ottawa Senators
2006Carolina Hurricanes4β€”3Edmonton Oilers
2005Season canceled due to the
2004-05 season NHL lockout
2004Tampa Bay Lightning4β€”3Calgary Flames
2003New Jersey Devils4β€”3Mighty Ducks of Anaheim
2002Detroit Red Wings4β€”1Carolina Hurricanes
2001Colorado Avalanche4β€”3New Jersey Devils
2000New Jersey Devils4β€”2Dallas Stars
1999Dallas Stars4β€”2Buffalo Sabres
1998Detroit Red Wings4β€”0Washington Capitals
1997Detroit Red Wings4β€”0Philadelphia Flyers
1996Colorado Avalanche4β€”0Florida Panthers
1995New Jersey Devils4β€”0Detroit Red Wings
1994New York Rangers4β€”3Vancouver Canucks
1993Montreal Canadiens4β€”1Los Angeles Kings
1992Pittsburgh Penguins4β€”0Chicago Blackhawks
1991Pittsburgh Penguins4β€”2Minnesota North Stars
1990Edmonton Oilers4β€”1Boston Bruins
1989Calgary Flames4β€”2Montreal Canadiens
1988Edmonton Oilers4β€”0Boston Bruins
1987Edmonton Oilers4β€”3Philadelphia Flyers
1986Montreal Canadiens4β€”1Calgary Flames
1985Edmonton Oilers4β€”1Philadelphia Flyers
1984Edmonton Oilers4β€”1New York Islanders
1983New York Islanders4β€”0Edmonton Oilers
1982New York Islanders4β€”0Vancouver Canucks
1981New York Islanders4β€”1Minnesota North Stars
1980New York Islanders4β€”2Philadelphia Flyers
1979Montreal Canadiens4β€”1New York Rangers
1978Montreal Canadiens4β€”2Boston Bruins
1977Montreal Canadiens4β€”0Boston Bruins
1976Montreal Canadiens4β€”0Philadelphia Flyers
1975Philadelphia Flyers4β€”2Buffalo Sabres
1974Philadelphia Flyers4β€”2Boston Bruins
1973Montreal Canadiens4β€”2Chicago Black Hawks
1972Boston Bruins4β€”2New York Rangers
1971Montreal Canadiens4β€”3Chicago Black Hawks
1970Boston Bruins4β€”0St. Louis Blues
1969Montreal Canadiens4β€”0St. Louis Blues
1968Montreal Canadiens4β€”0St. Louis Blues
1967Toronto Maple Leafs4β€”2Montreal Canadiens
1966Montreal Canadiens4β€”2Detroit Red Wings
1965Montreal Canadiens4β€”3Chicago Black Hawks
1964Toronto Maple Leafs4β€”3Detroit Red Wings
1963Toronto Maple Leafs4β€”1Detroit Red Wings
1962Toronto Maple Leafs4β€”2Chicago Black Hawks
1961Chicago Black Hawks4β€”2Detroit Red Wings
1960Montreal Canadiens4β€”0Toronto Maple Leafs
1959Montreal Canadiens4β€”1Toronto Maple Leafs
1958Montreal Canadiens4β€”2Boston Bruins
1957Montreal Canadiens4β€”1Boston Bruins
1956Montreal Canadiens4β€”1Detroit Red Wings
1955Detroit Red Wings4β€”3Montreal Canadiens
1954Detroit Red Wings4β€”3Montreal Canadiens
1953Montreal Canadiens4β€”1Boston Bruins
1952Detroit Red Wings4β€”0Montreal Canadiens
1951Toronto Maple Leafs4β€”1Montreal Canadiens
1950Detroit Red Wings4β€”3New York Rangers
1949Toronto Maple Leafs4β€”0Detroit Red Wings
1948Toronto Maple Leafs4β€”0Detroit Red Wings
1947Toronto Maple Leafs4β€”2Montreal Canadiens
1946Montreal Canadiens4β€”1Boston Bruins
1945Toronto Maple Leafs4β€”3Detroit Red Wings
1944Montreal Canadiens4β€”0Chicago Black Hawks
1943Detroit Red Wings4β€”0Boston Bruins
1942Toronto Maple Leafs4β€”3Detroit Red Wings
1941Boston Bruins4β€”0Detroit Red Wings
1940New York Rangers4β€”2Toronto Maple Leafs
1939Boston Bruins4β€”1Toronto Maple Leafs
1938Chicago Black Hawks3β€”1Toronto Maple Leafs
1937Detroit Red Wings3β€”2New York Rangers
1936Detroit Red Wings3β€”1Toronto Maple Leafs
1935Montreal Maroons3β€”0Toronto Maple Leafs
1934Chicago Black Hawks3β€”1Detroit Red Wings
1933New York Rangers3β€”1Toronto Maple Leafs
1932Toronto Maple Leafs3β€”0New York Rangers
1931Montreal Canadiens3β€”2Chicago Black Hawks
1930Montreal Canadiens2β€”0Boston Bruins
1929Boston Bruins2β€”0New York Rangers
1928New York Rangers3β€”2Montreal Maroons
1927Ottawa Senators2β€”0β€”2Boston Bruins
1926Montreal Maroons3β€”1Victoria Cougars
1925Victoria Cougars3β€”1Montreal Canadiens
1924Montreal Canadiens2β€”0Calgary Tigers
1923Ottawa Senators2β€”0Edmonton Eskimos
1922Toronto St. Pats3β€”2Vancouver Millionaires
1921Ottawa Senators3β€”2Vancouver Millionaires
1920Ottawa Senators3β€”2Seattle Metropolitans
1919Canceled due to flu epidemic––
1918Toronto Arenas3β€”2Vancouver Millionaires
1917Seattle Metropolitans3β€”1Montreal Canadiens
1916Montreal Canadiens3β€”2Portland Rosebuds
1915Vancouver Millionaires3β€”0Ottawa Senators